Dr.-Ing. E.h. Dietmar Harting - Member of the Board and partner

Curriculum Vitae

  • Date of birth: September 15, 1939
  • Studied electrical engineering and economics in Munich, Hanover and Cologne
  • 1967: Graduated in Business Administration
  • 1967: Joined his father's company
  • 1973: Managing shareholder
  • 2015: Partner


Honorary positions

  • Honorary President of the German Electrical and Electronic Manufacturers' Association (ZVEI), since 2004, for life
  • Honorary Member of the Association for Electrical, Electronic & Information Technologies (VDE) since October 2006
  • Honorary Chairman of the German Commission for Electrical, Electronic & Information Technologies of DIN and VDE (DKE), since 2010
  • Honorary Chairman of Professional Association 23 (Electronic Components and Systems/ECS) of the ZVEI, since May 2003
  • Personal Member of the State Board of Trustees of the German Industry Association Promoting Science and Learning in North Rhine Westphalia, since September 2010
  • Chairman of the Exhibitor Advisory Board of Hannover Messe, from January 1997 to October 2014
  • Honorary Member of the Exhibitor Advisory Board of Hannover Messe, since October 2014
  • Member of the Supervisory Board of Deutsche Messe AG, from November 1996 (Deputy Chairman as of 2002) to June 2014
  • Member of the Presidential Committee of Deutsche Messe AG, from February 2002 to June 2014
  • Member of the Messe München Exhibitor Advisory Board, January 2003 to December 2004
  • Member of the Cluster Board of the Leading-Edge Cluster it's OWL, since September 2011
  • President of CENELEC – the European Committee for Electrotechnical Standardization, from January 2008 to September 2009
  • President of the German Institute for Standardization (DIN), from November 2003 to September 2009


Dietmar Hartings aktive Ehrenämter

  • Ehrenpräsident des Zentralverbands der Elektrotechnik- und Elektronikindustrie e. V. (ZVEI), seit 2004 auf Lebenszeit
  • Ehrenmitglied des Verbands der Elektronik, Elektrotechnik und Informationstechnik e. V. (VDE), seit Oktober 2006
  • Ehrenvorsitzender der Deutschen Kommission Elektrotechnik Elektronik Informationstechnik im DIN und VDE (DKE), seit 2010
  • Ehrenvorsitzender des Fachverbands 23 (Electronic Components and Systems / ECS) des ZVEI, seit Mai 2003
  • Persönliches Mitglied im Landeskuratorium NRW des Stifterverbands für die Deutsche Wissenschaft, seit September 2010
  • Ehrenmitglied des Ausstellerbeirats der Hannover Messe, seit Oktober 2014
  • Mitglied im Clusterboard des Spitzencluster it’s OWL, seit September 2011

Ehemalige Ehrenämter

  • Vorsitzender des Ausstellerbeirats der Hannover Messe, von Januar 1997 bis Oktober 2014
  • Mitglied im Aufsichtsrat der Deutschen Messe AG, von November 1996 (stv. Vorsitzender ab 2002) bis Juni 2014
  • Mitglied des Präsidialausschusses der Deutschen Messe AG,von Februar 2002 bis Juni 2014
  • Mitglied des Ausstellerbeirats Messe München, Januar 2003 bis Dezember 2004
  • Präsident des CENELEC – Europäisches Komitee für elektrotechnische Normung von Januar 2008 bis September 2009
  • Präsident des Deutschen Instituts für Normung e. V. (DIN), von November 2003 bis September 2009


  • 1998: Federal Cross of Merit
  • 2004: Order of Merit, First Class, of Lower Saxony
  • 2008: Honorary gold medal of Deutsche Messe AG
  • 2009: Federal Cross of Merit, First Class
  • 2009: Ring of Honor awarded by the German Institute for Standardization (DIN)
  • 2009: Honorary citizen of the town of Espelkamp
  • 2010: Honorary doctorate from Leibniz University Hanover
  • 2010: Gold pin awarded by the German Commission for Electrical, Electronic & Information Technologies of DIN and VDE (DKE)
  • 2013: Erich Gutenberg Award
  • 2019: Karmarsch medal